PDA

View Full Version : Beetle engine removal

Wolfburg Willie
22-04-2005, 03:51 PM
Its my first time attempting to remove an engine from my daughters 1972, 1200cc beetle. I have followed the instructions in the servicing book but when I come to removing the 4 bolts that hold the engine onto the transmission I find that the bolt on the top left handside, behind the fan housing, seems to be inserted from the other direction. IE The threads and not the bolthead are in the engine compartment.
How do I gain access to the bolt to remove it? Any ideas ? :oops: :oops:

Souper Steve ABB
23-04-2005, 07:13 AM
Bolts are round the back of the casing and are a squeeze at best. The best tool money can buy here is a 17mm ratchet spanner you will not regret the tenner or so you spend on this beleive me. I'm in great barr area if you need an extra set of eyes and you're close by give us a shout

Wolfburg Willie
25-04-2005, 09:25 PM
Thanks Steve I will take another look at the problem tomorrow. Perhaps I was looking in the wrong place. Thanks for the tip on the rachet spanner I live in Telford so it would be a bit impractical to pop round and see you. I will let you know how iI get on.

Souper Steve ABB
25-04-2005, 10:28 PM
good luck mate. If you need any advice i'll do my best to help

plumcrazee
25-04-2005, 11:49 PM
the 2 top engine bolts are oposite

looking at the engine the top left bolt is threaded into the case. the best method is to get the car on axel stands and a ratchet and exstesion bar and a 17mm socket as the clutch cable gets in the way.

the other side is a nut on a blt this is where a rachet spanner comes in handy

good look :wink:

Wolfburg Willie
26-04-2005, 09:40 PM